Make a AA Battery Act Like a D Cell

Regular readers here know how much of a fan I am of Eneloop rechargeable batteries.  They are reliable, charge quickly and hold their charge for a long time.  Over the years, I have accumulated quite a few AA and AAA-size Eneloops, enough to use in almost all our household and emergency devices.   However, I’m sure there are other folks out there who have a favorite old D-cell Maglite flashlight that they still love to use.

I had previously converted our Maglites with LED bulb conversion kits but had not done anything about their batteries until now.  Eneloop makes these D-cell adapters which allow you to use their AA size batteries in D-cell devices.  Now I don’t have to worry about buying D-cell disposable batteries and can easily rotate these AA cells among my stock of AA Eneloops.  It also makes my 3-D cell Maglite a little lighter, and much more impervious to damage from leaking alkaline batteries.  Also note that these adapter can work with ANY size AA battery, which is the most common battery size in the world.

Leave a comment